Any thoughts on this oil painting?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

dcolosio

USA
662 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2016 :  18:10:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all, I found this recently, it is unsigned (I unmounted it to see if there were any clues).. A friend of mine said it looks a bit "Ce'zanne" like but without the depth of imagination of his other works and probably lack of technique as well (I am still a beginner at all this)..

In any case, I thought I would post it here since I have been sharing things here for years and there always seems to be provocative advice and opinions. :)

Thanks for looking.. I appreciate any help at all.

Doug Colosio

ATTACHMENTS:
image001.jpg
image005.jpg
image002.jpg
image003.jpg
image004.jpg
image006.jpg
image007.jpg
image008.jpg
image010.jpg
image011.jpg
image012.jpg

arb

Netherlands
750 Posts

Posted - Apr 24 2016 :  09:16:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It's a beauty. Finding it would make my day. And hanging in a museum as a Cézanne, it could have fooled me. I know that particular fat mold lettering '85' specifically from French canvases. The same goes for the pigments of the paint. And I'd say, whoever made it, was probably French. And a good artist. Hope Hercule agrees.

Edited by - arb on Apr 24 2016 09:44:17
Go to Top of Page

Merray
Gold Member

Canada
1384 Posts

Posted - Apr 24 2016 :  12:11:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Great painting, no doubt about that. A bit short on the aging though to be by Cezanne I think, it looks to me more like from circa 1940's..., but that could be just me - very subjective, based only on own experience.

www.artmarketspot.com
Go to Top of Page

dcolosio

USA
662 Posts

Posted - Apr 24 2016 :  16:50:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote