How To Identify Artists Who Only Sign With Intials
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

shawn
Starting Member

12 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2008 :  00:35:08  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
First, and foremost, thanks to everyone who helped in my search for T. Yamajo.

Now I have an important question that might apply to others who log on to this wonderful forum.

How do you identify or research an artist who only uses their initials on a painting? Certainly there most be a book, site, or other means that one could use. Alas, I am not good at this, so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Shawn

wasbach
Gold Member

Germany
3460 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2008 :  05:00:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Shawn,
often it's possible to identify an artist by his initials.
There are many books about these initials (does anyone know a good site?).
But (once again) without seeing your initials nobody can really help you,
because for most of the combinations there exist many artists and therefore many different ways of writing it. nn
Regards
Wasbach

Edited by - wasbach on Jan 17 2008 09:52:08
Go to Top of Page

shawn
Starting Member

12 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2008 :  22:47:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by shawn

First, and foremost, thanks to everyone who helped in my search for T. Yamajo.

Now I have an important question that might apply to others who log on to this wonderful forum.

How do you identify or research an artist who only uses their initials on a painting? Certainly there most be a book, site, or other means that one could use. Alas, I am not good at this, so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Shawn